skip navigation
Home SIJHL Teams Schedule News Standings Leaders Awards Commitments Links Photos

    Home of the Superior International Junior Hockey League

      Current News

      North Stars edge Iron Rangers

      12/17/2014, 9:30pm CST
      By SIJHL



      Release Date: Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2014

      North Stars edge Iron Rangers

      THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Thunder Bay North Stars used the strength of two third period power play goals to pull out a 4-3 victory over the Minnesota Iron Rangers in Superior International Junior Hockey League play Wednesday evening at the Fort William Gardens.

      Each team would score once in the opening 20 minutes A.J. Rupert getting the Iron Rangers on the board midway through the frame before Daniel McKitrick countered for Thunder Bay at the 13-minute mark.

      After Matthias Gardiman made it 2-1 North Stars at 6:54 of the second during a man advantage opportunity, Minnesota supplied tallies from Seth Chumley to tie it at 13:14 and Alex Arnold on the power play five minutes later to give the visitors the lead entering the third.

      In the final frame, Thunder Bay drew level at 12:26 as McKitrick notched his second of the night to level the proceedings.

      Then with overtime looming, the North Stars picked up the game-winner with 63 seconds left in regulation as Brandon Wolframe buried the difference maker with his club up a man.

      Nathaniel Dupuis was solid in the Thunder Bay net making 37 saves to register the win.

      Kyle Carignan faced 24 shots in a losing cause for Minnesota.

      SIJHL action resumes Thursday as the English River Miners host the league-leading Fort Frances Lakers in a 7 p.m. start at Ear Falls Arena.


      Dryden masters English River

      12/16/2014, 9:30pm CST
      By SIJHL



      Release Date: Tuesday, Dec. 16, 2014

      Dryden masters English River

      RED LAKE, Ont. – Eric Masters scored five times, including four in the opening period, as part of a convincing 8-3 victory by the Dryden GM Ice Dogs over the English River Miners in a Superior International Junior Hockey League affair at Cochenour Arena.

      Masters, a former member of the Miners, started off his impressive evening notching a natural hat trick just over eight minutes apart in the opening period.

      Dryden added to the their cushion via the power play as Cole Golka buried his league-leading 30th of the season at 16:17, which spelled the end of English River starter Travid Ridgen’s night.

      The GM Ice Dogs continued their offensive onslaught in the final minute of the first as Masters struck again in the frame.

      The Miners got on the board four and a half minutes in the second when Eric Champagne connected during a man advantage.

      Kyle Baril made it a 5-2 game as he connected on another English River power play to pull his side to within three entering the final frame.

      Special teams continued to convert in the in third as Dryden got extra man efforts from Jonathon Philley and Masters to make it 8-2.

      Champagne’s second of the night with the man advantage added one more for the Miners before Matt Houston rounded out the scoring for the Ice Dogs.

      Ryan Hron chipped in offensively for Dryden with three assists

      Tate Sproxton recorded the win while Ridgen suffered the loss and Greg Harney also seeing time in net for the Miners in relief.



      ccmhockey.com - reebokhockey.com

      Upcoming Events

      No upcoming events found.